Student purchasing plane - unsure of what signoffs/endorsements required

ArrowFlyer86

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
The Little Arrow That Could
Hi All!

My first post here, as I'm a student pilot and have found this forum immensely helpful on numerous occasions. Glad I could join! I have a question and I'm hoping this community can help.

I'm pretty far along in my PPL training and have been soloing and doing XCs for a few months, but I've had a hell of a time getting as many hours as I'd like due to scheduling issues, limited plane availability at my flight school and a ton of bad luck with weather. To rectify this I decided to buy a plane so that it's available when I am and when weather is cooperating (and I fully intended to buy one after training anyways!). I haven't purchased it yet, but plan to within the next 30 days based on the feedback I get here.

Questions:
1) The school I'm learning to fly at has exclusively light sport aircraft and instructors certified to teach in LSA. If I bought a non LSA, who can certify me to fly it? Does my current instructor have to agree or sign off as well in some capacity? Do I have to find a new instructor?
2) The particular planes I'm interested in are CS prop (but no retractable gear), but I haven't been training in one (yet). What wrench, if any, would that throw into my plan to fly it? Is this something I can only fly after I get a PPL? Curious how I should think about order of operations on what I'd need to do to actually fly? Do I need to find a flight school to sign me off on just that?

Quick note: I've read a ton of great considerations in other posts where people question the motivation to buy a plane as a student. After significant deliberation I'll just say that this is the right move for me. Flying club and other alternatives aren't very practical.