Student Pilot in trouble

U

Unregistered

Hello,

I am a current ATC student attending a CTI school with the ultimate goal of working for the FAA. One of the requirements at the school is to earn a PPL. Unfortunately, over Super Bowl weekend I was arrested and charged with DUI (early FEB 2013). To make matters worse, I for whatever reason opted not to blow on the breathlyzer. My license has not yet been suspended, and my hearing was just pushed back to mid-April by my attorney. He is appealing the one year license suspension due to refusal to blow. Again, no administrative actions have been taken against my driving priviledge as of now.

My questions are: Do I need to send a report to the FAA only from the date of any admin action or do they count the arrest itself as something reportable? Also, I am still working towards the PPL since the only thing that has effectively happened right now is the arrest. I plan to send a report as soon as I actually lose my license. On the FAA and ATC side of things, what am I realistically facing and are my hopes of an ATC career gone?

Thanks in advance for any responses. I know I made a seriously bad judgement call so this is really quite embarassing for me

I am a current ATC student attending a CTI school with the ultimate goal of working for the FAA. One of the requirements at the school is to earn a PPL. Unfortunately, over Super Bowl weekend I was arrested and charged with DUI (early FEB 2013). To make matters worse, I for whatever reason opted not to blow on the breathlyzer. My license has not yet been suspended, and my hearing was just pushed back to mid-April by my attorney. He is appealing the one year license suspension due to refusal to blow. Again, no administrative actions have been taken against my driving priviledge as of now.