Student Pilot Dilemma

richardywang

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Theepilot
Hey guys I need some advice on what I should do. I started training at a flight school a few months back. I thought I would be able to get my PPL before I head off the college which starts in Fall due to some financial issues that came up, I don't think that will be possible.
As of right now I have around 20 hours of flight time. I don't care how long it takes for me to get my PPL, I just love flying. It could be a possible career choice. So I thought I would just build as much hours as I can with the current instructor I have now (who I absolutely love) and then when I move away for school. I'll finish it up there. However, I will only be able to train once a week or every other week. Would this be a wise plan?

Financial is easy to solve. Cut out leisure activities and get busy with additional jobs like pizza delivery, dog cleaning, house walking, lawn mowing, and more.... Should take that long to build up $3000-4000 if you set a survival bare bones expense budget. Then get busy training.

So you are saying I should just stop flight training and just focus on building up money?

Get the money first, then continue your training. If you keep on starting and stopping with your training, you'll just drag it out and end up paying more

I figured paying as you go would have worked out. But, I suppose I got no choice but to stop for now. Thanks for the advice guys, much appreciated!

Personally, I liked doubling up and doing 2 hour lessons with my CFI. I'd mostly do at least one of those per week, sometimes a few...and once I was checked out to solo I'd try to get out by myself at least once every week or other week for pattern work or head out to the practice area. The 2 hour lessons save you some $$, IMHO. The time you spend on pre-flights, taxi, runups, getting gas, etc... doing multiple 1 hour lessons adds up.