Stress Test for New Medical

ElecTape

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Anthony
I recently decided to go back to school to finish my degree. I wound up being able to pursue my BS in Aviation Science. I followed all the steps to get thru the process and did my medical several weeks past. School has started for me and I’m currently on a flight hold since my medical has yet to be finished. Buried in debt now…lol

Friday I received a letter from the FAA concerning my medical and am now being asked to take a stress test. I have looked on the internet for information on this and will of course speak to my AME on Monday to see what this will take to do but I’m somewhat scared and confused as to why I’m being asked for this additional step.

Let me give some background information on me:

I am 40 years old and this is my first attempt for a medical certificate. I had to apply for a 1st class for school since I will be pursing an ATP certificate and they want to make sure I can achieve a 1st class.

Approximately 5 years ago I was over 350lbs in weight and became very sick, I made several life changing decisions and got my weight under control. During this time I was tagged with the Diabetes and High Blood pressure on my permanent medical information. My family doctor is also my AME. Since getting my health under control I have stop taking any medicine for Diabetes or High Blood Pressure per my doctor there is no longer a need since I have corrected these with diet and exercise. 2 years ago my grandmother went in for surgery and had a triple bypass and in the process has become disabled. So I left the lifestyle I adopted and have since taken the roll of her care giver and found local work. I have unfortunately strayed from some of the better and healthier choices I was making but have kept myself on a good track other than adding some additional weight back on.