Stratus or Garmin GDL?

DKirkpatrick

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
DKirkpatrick
Hello.
Gotta buy a new one. Have a Stratus 2XX. It worked fine, then the bat died, then I replaced it with a new one, and now bat lasts about 1.5 hours ... grrr.
This stuff is techno-confusing and I'm just not a big techie...
I installed a Garmin 175. Like it alot, but want to view info on a bigger screen.
Would the Garmin GDL product be a better choice for replacement? Would that give me the capability of showing the little screen on the G175 on the iPad?? Do I need a Garmin 796 for this?
I still like the iPad on my knee for approach plates, etc. Currently use it with Foreflight.
Coaching would help from POA crew.
thanks in advance,
dan

I have a Garmin 175 and a Stratus 3. You can use both simultaneously, the GPS 175 pairing via Bluetooth and the Stratus 3 connecting via Wi-Fi.

You can push your Foreflight flight plan to the GPS175, and in reverse fashion any changes made to the flight plan on the GPS will be seen by Foreflight (which will ask you if you want to copy the new plan).

The main things that I like about the Stratus 3 are:
1) Turns on automatically after the Avionics switch comes on (when plugged to USB power).
2) Logs can be retrieved via Foreflight if the live tracking missed a segment of your flight. If you like keeping a consistent record of your track logs attached to your logbook entries, then this ability is useful.
3) Fast AHRS refresh rate makes synthetic vision near panel quality in case of an emergency.