Stick it to Daley AND have some fun

I thought that, because I grew up a Reds fan in Cincinnati/Dayton and came of age in the shadow of the Big Red Machine that I was the only one who felt this way.

Seems to me a professional player/coach/manager makes this bet EVERY SINGLE DAY -- just not with a bookie. And I strongly resented, for example, the chance after chance Darryl Strawberry got.

As a little league coach, I'll take a kid with Pete Rose's attitude every time over someone like, say Gary Sheffield. Give me a kid who loves to play, tries hard, and makes the best of his/her natural ability over a talented head case any day of the week.

Absolutely. My Dad grew up in Cincinnati too, and he tried to make me a Reds fan. So that may color my opinion a bit, but you can't argue with Rose's numbers, attitude, and gutsy hustle. He played as hard as he could every day he could, and it's a shame -- a travesty -- that those things are ignored by so many.

(BTW, the Reds indoctrination experiment lasted until my Dad took me for the first time to a Cubs-Reds game at Wrigley. I can clearly remember Dunston, Dawson, Sandberg and Grace, but I don't think I could tell you the name of one Red at the time -- except maybe Barry Larkin. Plus watching the Cubs and listening to Harry and Steve on WGN every afternoon in the summer probably had a lot to do with it too. :D)

Never knew you grew up in Cincy/Dayton, Ken? Where?

I have some good friends that grew up in Kettering, the stepchild to Oakwood (Dayton area). And I lived in Clifton (near UC) in Cincy for a few years.... learned to fly at Blue Ash.

I taunt one of them about Petey. Their comment: "Pete Rose was a moron and a criminal".

Never knew you grew up in Cincy/Dayton, Ken? Where?