Staying up to date

MHarrow

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
MHarrow11
So I have started my PPL I have 16 hours and I will solo next time I am home. I work as a contractor overseas so I am home every three months.

Does anyone here fly a few times a month then go take a break for a few months. Then fly again?

If you do how does it affect when you go and try and rent a plane somewhere?

I live in California but I am doing my training in Florida. ( It's cheaper and I stay at a friend's while I am there ) I don't know what airport that has a rentals is closest to me so I don't know what to ask them.

After three weeks of no-flying for me is when it gets serious. It starts with a slight fever and dryness of the throat. Then it penetrates the red blood cells, and I become dizzy, begin to experience an itchy rash, then it goes to work on the central nervous system, severe muscle spasms followed by the inevitable drooling.
At this point my entire digestive system collapses accompanied by uncontrollable flatulence until finally, I’m reduced to a quivering wasted piece of jelly.

3 months? Fuhgedaboudit. Especially during training, although I never had that long of a break. I guess there’s not much u can do about it though, huh?

I highly recommend flying the lazyboy as often as you can, it seems to help me... Being its training and some skills aren't cemented in yet, you are going to loose a little progress just like the kids do with summer break. But its the hand of cards you are dealt with your schedule and part of being a pilot is making the best out of less than perfect situations. You can do it. Arm chair fly when you cant fly for real, watch youtubes of flights and "fly" in your head with them not just watch...