starting my research into becoming a private pilot.

onmy6

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Ryan
Hello everyone,
I am brand new to the aviation world and have wanted my PPL since about 12 or so (I am now 20). Due to my college/ job I move around a lot (so far this yr I have been home less than 3 months and have worked in 8 different states). On the 24th I am going to New Iberia Louisiana. Just googling I found a flight school. I was thinking about going in and talking to them about STARTING the process of flying. I will be in New Iberia until December 12th (atleast). My question is. Is it a good idea to start talking to an instructor down there/ even start flying at that school to only go home and/or my permanent location (after college I am gaurenteed a job... the kicker is if there are no jobs in NJ I am required to move... the company does provide a moving package).

Since you will only be in LA for two months, you may want to consider waiting until you get to a more permanent setting. You can always start training down there, but in two months you won't finish (expect 6-12 months if you are flying 3x a week somewhat consistently), and when you transfer to a new flight instructor/flight school you may end up repeating a bunch of stuff, which gets costly. I guess if you have the money to throw around it wouldn't hurt to start it down in LA, but if money is a factor then I might suggest waiting. But what do I know. I'm a newbie. And I'm broke (just finished my own PPL).

Last edited:
Sit on your hands(and checkbook) till you get where you are going.

If I were in your shoes, I'd get the King private Pilot package and read it all cover to cover, then do it all over. When you start your ground training,it will all be review. Take the test rather quickly and then the fun begins.