Starting Instrument Training

momalley

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
momalley
I just scheduled my 1st IR lesson. Next Wednesday at 1pm I hit the simulator. Hope to get 1-2 lessons in per week and then be ready for the check ride by mid-summer or so.

Congrats on your decision to get the rating. I've been a pilot for only a year, and IFR rated for about 4 months and I can tell you it is well worth it!

I would try to fly at least 2 - 3 missions per week if you can, though!!

Good luck!

Enjoy. The IR was the toughest one for me (including the CFI certificate), so when you're frustrated remember that it's normal. On the bright side you'll have a much better understanding of the whole system when you're done.

Don't hesitate to ask questions.

Congrats, enjoy the training,try not to get frustrated,it will all come together. One of the best ratings ,if you do a lot of cross country flying.

Awesome, you will enjoy it. It is a fun rating but I agree that it requires a lot of work.
FWIW, if you can, schedule a lesson with your CFII to go up in your Piper on a cloudy day. Having actual IMC exposure (with a CFII onboard) is definitely an eye opener.

Have fun!

Awesome, you will enjoy it. It is a fun rating but I agree that it requires a lot of work.
FWIW, if you can, schedule a lesson with your CFII to go up in your Piper on a cloudy day. Having actual IMC exposure (with a CFII onboard) is definitely an eye opener.

Have fun!
We are planning an IFR flight in actual for lunch one day in the next week or so.

Congrats on your decision to get the rating. I've been a pilot for only a year, and IFR rated for about 4 months and I can tell you it is well worth it!

I would try to fly at least 2 - 3 missions per week if you can, though!!

Good luck!
yea, I got my private a year ago (1/17/2014) and have had to cancel more than a few flights due to weather.