Starting IFR training...

onwards

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
onwards
... this coming Sunday. Excited and nervous about it. Any tips from people who have recently gone through this?

I'm in the middle of training right now and I'm really enjoying it. I just got my first bit of actual last week and it was a great experience. I don't really have any eye opening hints for you, but just have fun with it; I can already feel it making me a better pilot.

I'm starting on Thanksgiving week. Preparing for written now. Hopefully will take written on weekend or next Monday.

I just finished and did the checkride two weeks ago. What everyone else will say to you is true: I'm a much better pilot than I was before, the capabilities available to me are much broader than they were, as are the potential risks. I took the part 61 route, over a span of about 12 months, my personal preference on that issue, and I had (actually have) an awesome and demanding instructor. Be sure you are comfortable with the instruction you receive and don't hesitate to speak out if not. Get as much time in actual IMC as you can, which may be harder as the cold weather sets in. It is a great rating to have, have fun with the training!

I was also lucky to be able to fly my checkride with Doug Stewart..another amazing experience.

I was nervous as well for my first training flight, even though I flew often with the CFII for flight school checkouts, the information was what I was nervous about.