Sport Pilot VFR Minimums

VictorValencia

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
VictorValencia
Hi All,

I am a student working on Sport Pilot and came across a question
that I "think" I know the answer to but I'm not 100% sure.

FAR 61.315 C.12 states "C) You may not act as pilot in command of a light
sport aircraft:....12) When the flight or surface visibility is less than 3
statute miles."

My question is does this imply that a Sport Pilot may not fly in
"marginal vfr" (MVFR) conditions (1-3 sm visibility) ?

I think the answer is "yes, a sport pilot is not allowed to fly in
MVFR conditions". I want to see if anyone has a different opinion.

Victor

H
My question is does this imply that a Sport Pilot may not fly in
"marginal vfr" (MVFR) conditions (1-3 sm visibility) ?

I think the answer is "yes, a sport pilot is not allowed to fly in
MVFR conditions". I want to see if anyone has a different opinion.

Victor

MVFR is 3-5SM visibility. 1-3SM visibility is special cases only: Class B (needs endorsement for SP), Class G, or SVFR (which I don't believe SP is allowed to do). SP can do down to 3SM with visual contact with the ground.

MVFR is 3-5SM visibility.
Correct, in terms of categorical outlook in forecasts. There is no "MVFR" in the flight rules -- it's either VMC or IMC.

1-3SM visibility is special cases only: Class B (needs endorsement for SP)
Class B VMC requires 3 miles flight vis. It's the cloud clearances which are reduced down to just "clear of clouds". But either way, yes, Sport Pilots need a Class B endorsement.

, Class G,
1 mile in G-space is day only -- it's 3 miles at night.

or SVFR (which I don't believe SP is allowed to do).
AFAIK, that's not a specific prohibition. Sport Pilots must have 3 miles flight visibility, but there's nothing I know prohibiting them from doing SVFR when the vis is >3 but standard VFR cloud clearance cannot be maintained.

SP can do down to 3SM with visual contact with the ground.