Specialty CFIs

Huckster79

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
Huckster79
I’m curious if I’m missing a source or I’m out in left field... I’d like to look into flight reveiws or just lessons for advancing my piloting abilities... not looking for a new rating but for instance... I would like to do some dedicated training to Power Loss On Take Off...

Sure I could chat with my cfi buddies and do it- but curious if there are folks that focus on extra training? I can find courses on mountain flying but that’s about it...

I think word of mouth on your home field is the best for that.

I know the CFI I use most often doesn't advertise.

I'd ask the local acro guy. I see this sort of thing in the list of trainings offered by places that do acro, spin training, and upset training.

Failing that, you might try a glider academy. I have no first-hand experience, but I'd expect rope-break training is more familiar to those guys than the local skyhawk bashers.

+1 on the acro/spin/upset recovery guys.

I’d avoid any instructors who primarily do certificates and ratings, as they’re typically not very creative...most of the ones I’ve dealt with seem to have “flight instructor-Archer, Seminole” on their certificates. Somebody who’s willing to learn your airplane in order to teach it would probably be good.

A CFI who has lost his or her medical, would only* be able to teach someone who could act as PIC for the flight, so might do only “in your own plane” teaching.

*SP excepted of course.

Most of what I do these days is specialty tailwheel stuff. Too busy with the aerial photography to do many students.

I would say your best bet is going to be independent CFIs, not affiliated with a school, and perhaps even ones that do not have their own airplane to teach in. In other words, like me...

Personal anecdotes follow: