Sorta Serious Poll

How much do you spend on flying as a percentage of your gross annual income?

• I don't spend anything; I'm a professional pilot or CFI who makes money off flying

Votes: 7 8.0%
  • I spend less than 20%

Votes: 45 51.7%
  • 20%-30%

Votes: 4 4.6%
  • 30%-40%

Votes: 2 2.3%
  • 40% or more

Votes: 4 4.6%
  • I don't know; I try not to think about it too much

Votes: 25 28.7%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

spiderweb

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Ben
I got to thinking about how much flying matters to pilots, and how it ultimately translates into time and money. Specifically, it occured to me how much money this costs us, especially as a percentage of our income. I got to thinking about how nice it would be to own a KI Baron, C310, or Seneca, but how I couldn't afford it. You'd have to be a doctor or lawyer (and not of music), I thought to myself. But then I notice while there are pilots who have high paying jobs and big time airplanes, I also pilots with money making jobs with simple airplanes. Then there are those who seem not to have much money, but who spend a lot on flying. So, answer the poll if you feel like it. I think it might be instructive to find out anonymously how much we value what we do.

EDIT: If you chose to answer, for the sake of this poll let's say that "total income" means just your income, not your total family income.

Last edited:
I was surprised to find that I spend only about 13.5% of our income on flying. Of course, I don't really make enough to spend a higher percentage unless we want to go back to living in a $2500 trailer and driving $500 cars, which is how we paid for the first couple years of my training.... we aren't going to do that.

If I made more, the percentage spent on flying would go up. For now, we spend enough for me to keep working toward the goals my wife and I set.