Sonex High Wing "Unibrow" - What are the aerodynamic implications?

MarkH

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
MarkH
I want to build a plane one day, and the Sonex High Wing is very appealing seeing as I really like the Wittman Tailwind and the all-metal Sonex eases my concerns about "What if I can never get a hangar". When you consider that the Sonex marketing has specifically cited the Tailwind as an inspiration, (assuming I fit in it) it seems like the best option coming to market for me to consider building.

Having spent years staring at pictures of Tailwinds, I am used to the "shoulderpad" look of the wings being forward of windscreen and maybe that's why the Sonex, with its wing center section sticking out above the windscreen, just looks weird to me.

Sonex high wing:
1699584068309.jpeg
Tailwind:
WITTMAN TAILWIND€ - Plane & Pilot Magazine

I am not an aircraft designer, but the wing extending above the windscreen seems like it would add drag and reduce visibility. Is there something I am missing from a function or aerodynamic perspective that makes that design choice valuable?

Sonex Highwing Fans | Facebook

That picture doesn't do the best job of capturing the "unibrow", the wing overhanging the top of this windscreen.
This one is slightly better.

I am not an aircraft designer, but the wing extending above the windscreen seems like it would add drag and reduce visibility
Steve Whitman was a genius designer (setting aside his opinion about rib stitching dope of and fabric wings).
The wing may look odd but the Tailwind was a very efficient aircraft in terms of mph/hp.

Steve Whitman was a genius designer (setting aside his opinion about rib stitching dope of and fabric wings).
The wing may look odd but the Tailwind was a very efficient aircraft in terms of mph/hp.

I agree, and I am not questioning the tailwind wing, its the Sonex wing that I don't understand.