Slow Flight

biomiller

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
biomiller
Hello,

I am new to aviation, this board and have 7 hours of flight time. I am having trouble wrapping my head around the concept of slow flight and the back side of the power curve.

Today, I just couldn't seem to figure out when to use the throttle and when to use the yoke to adjust for speed and altitude control.

Could someone please give me some help with this concept and the proper way to use the controls during slow flight?

Thank you,

Todd

Hello,

I am new to aviation, this board and have 7 hours of flight time. I am having trouble wrapping my head around the concept of slow flight and the back side of the power curve.

Today, I just couldn't seem to figure out when to use the throttle and when to use the yoke to adjust for speed and altitude control.

Could someone please give me some help with this concept and the proper way to use the controls during slow flight?

Thank you,

Todd

Pitch for speed, power for altitude.

i.e. pull back on the yoke to slow up.. .but when you do, you're going to have to reduce power to keep it from climbing.

Slow flight is finding the right power/pitch setting to go slow and stay at the same altitude, just above a stall.

Think of it this way, if you keep the power on, and pull back on the yoke, it's going to climb up to a certain altitude and hold. A major reason for it to stop climbing is because the higher it goes, the less power the engine is making. You can make that altitude lower if you pull back on the power. In slow flight you want to make that altitude the altitude you're at.

Last edited:
Welcome, Todd. I can't add much more than what's said above but would just like to add...

Slow flight is a blast, especially when there's enough wind to create backwards flight. It's also fun seeing the ASI read zero.

It's a good way to get the oil warm enough to boil off the water on cold days too.