Sleep anxiety/Insomnia--need guidance on how to maneuver with FAA

A

Anonymous

Thanks for the help in advance.

I've been flying for 6 years and been totally healthy( thank God.). I have a current third class medical which expires in 2021 and am currently flying under that.

Recently, somewhat out of the blue, I developed sleep anxiety/insomnia. I went to the doctor and was prescribed Xanax for which I've been taking it on and off( mostly on) for the past month. It helps me sleep and all but my ultimate goal is to get off the stuff as soon as practical. I'm seeking out more natural aids but so far have not found anything that's very helpful. The dr also suggested I seek therapy for this which I have done. Here is the question, my supply of pills is running out and I need to know what I can legally do according to the FAA to continue to receive treatment, which may require me to refill this prescription, without harming my ability to have my medical renewed. I recognize that basicmed makes things a bit easier for us all but I'm very worried that if I seek out treatment that my dr may recommend, or even going to see the doctor to get his help, I may be crushing my ability to have my medical renewed when it comes due( especially because this same dr recommending treatment is my personal dr.) So basically I need to know if I should just try and plow through this myself( which is currently extrodinarly hard) or if I'm free to seek treatment( whatever the next steps may be.). I recognize that a diagnosis of anxiety or something like that may be a death blow to the medical and that has me very worried. I love flying and I don't want to give it up or, in the process of struggling through this short term issue, totally screw my ability to enjoy a lifetime of flying.

Any thoughts? I have read that Dr. Bruce seems to be helpful in these grey areas and I may reach out to him if needed.