Similar Written Tests

mjburian

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Marty
When I was working on my instrument rating, it came to my attention that the IRA, IGI and CFII written tests were based on (essentially) the same question bank. So I took (and passed) all three.

Now, I'm getting ready to start studying for the commercial written and wondering if there's any overlap in the questions for that test with the AGI and CFI exams. If possible, I'd prefer to get the writtens out of the way in the most efficient manner possible. As long as I'm studying... if I can take/pass multiple tests at the same time I'd prefer to do if that way.

When I was working on my instrument rating, it came to my attention that the IRA, IGI and CFII written tests were based on (essentially) the same question bank. So I took (and passed) all three.

Now, I'm getting ready to start studying for the commercial written and wondering if there's any overlap in the questions for that test with the AGI and CFI exams. If possible, I'd prefer to get the writtens out of the way in the most efficient manner possible. As long as I'm studying... if I can take/pass multiple tests at the same time I'd prefer to do if that way.

The Flight Instructor Airplane(CFI), BGI, and AGI all pull from the same question bank. Only difference is BGI is 80 questions and AGI is 100. The Advanced trumps the Basic so taking the basic would just be a waste of $165 bucks. The Commercial does NOT come from the same question bank as the CFI & AGI. You may see some similar questions but not all of them.

Last edited:
The Flight Instructor Airplane(CFI), BGI, and AGI all pull from the same question bank. Only difference is BGI is 80 questions and AGI is 100.
The BGI draws only from the Private level question bank, not the Commercial. In any event, as you mentioned, there's no point taking the BGI if your taking the AGI since AGI privileges include everything a BGI can do and then some.