Signs/symptoms of Hypoxia

dagmba

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
David
Hello, I am brand new to POA and this is my first post.

I recently came across the website for a nationally recognized CFII who has some excellent training materials and videos posted. One of them, however, flies against everything I have ever learned or taught about medicine. This CFII, in a video about hypoxia, states that, for a given individual, that individual's signs and symptoms of hypoxia will always be the same and will always occur in the same order. Differing persons may have differing signs/symptoms, but will be constant for that person. I was the director of a large community college-based paramedic training program for a number of years, and in all my training and education, I have never heard this before, and frankly, I don't buy it. I posted a question to the CFII to cite his sources for making this claim, but never saw a reply. Oxygen, in my considered opinion, like any other critical nourishment for the brain, when deprived, can present in numerous ways depending on many variables. There's no way one can absolutely say hypoxia will present the same way each time per individual.

Agree? I'm open to learning new things if I have missed something.

David