Short flight video

HouTxPilot82

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
HouTxPilot82
So here goes my very first attempt ever at editing some of the footage I've captured into a 'music video'. I'm only getting started learning Premiere Pro and this was put together in just a few hours. I'll admit some of the light flashes, overlays, etc are a bit too strong and I intended to tone down the intensity on some of them before doing final export but I was being impatient and just went with it. I thought the group here may enjoy some of this.

https://vimeo.com/124700849

I welcome any feedback you may have.

I think it is a great first run because it captured the pleasure of the flight.
There were two minor aspects that were distracting for me. One you already identified; the white flash transitions. The other was the use of several very short scenes spliced together. It is difficult for me to "keep up" with those. That may be unique to me; professional directors use it on television (e.g. Guy Fieri's Diners, Drive-ins, & Dives on The Food Network), probably without complaint from other viewers.
To reiterate: those were minor distractions. Overall, I thought it was very good.

I enjoyed it!

Enough that I watched it all the way through, which is rare for me.

Agree that the transitions are a bit overdone. Usually just jump cuts and a few cross fades get the job done. But I also get enamored by the palette of transitions in iMovie and can't resist sometimes.

My preference if for a bit more linear storytelling - I also had trouble keeping my place in the video.

But an excellent start!