Route curiosity, what would you do?

midcap

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
midcap
I have zero experience with this but hypothetically speaking, if you were trying to fly out of KNEW and ultimately your goal was to land at KISM what would be the IFR flight you would take?

let's say 150kts with 2 hours of flight time and 1 hour of reserves.

If I asked this question in a improper manner, let me know.

Without breaking down every waypoint, I would generally follow the V295 to the V198 and then try to vector over.

KNEW SJI KMAI OCF LEESE2 KISM, and stop for fuel at KMAI.

Last edited:
KNEW PEARL V198 MAI V521 CTY V159 OCF.LEESE2 KISM

I'd Imagine I'd have to be at a really high altitude to avoid KNPA?

Not necessarily. Depends on their traffic when you're in their airspace. They may vector you some but you can pretty much get thru there.

Without breaking down every waypoint, I would generally follow the V295 to the V198 and then try to vector over.

Californians are so cute. They even preface Victor Airways with "the."

I have zero experience with this but hypothetically speaking, if you were trying to fly out of KNEW and ultimately your goal was to land at KISM what would be the IFR flight you would take?

let's say 150kts with 2 hours of flight time and 1 hour of reserves.

If I asked this question in a improper manner, let me know.

KNEW D-> KISM.

oh ok, that's good to know.

Flew thru there many years ago as a Pvt Pilot in a Sierra from Destin to Gulfport. Got SE of NPA and they gave me traffic of 5 A4s. I was flying along the coast basically VFR, and saw the traffic, 2-3 went to my right and the other 2-3 to my left. It was the Blue Angels. Very cool!

Here's what fltplan recommended.

OCF.LEESE2 480NM BE40
SJI CEW CTY 500NM BE30
SJI CEW HEVVN OCF.LEESE2 504NM C525