Ron Levy / Flying Club

tonycondon

Gastons CRO (Chief Dinner Reservation Officer)
Display Name

Display name:
Tony
Hey Ron,

What school did you start a flying club at? I know youve talked about it before, wasnt Michigan Tech was it? or something like that? My manager at work was president of the club there in the early 70s and it sparked my memory.

If I'm not mistaken, Ron continues to be based out of Salisbury, Maryland.

Ron will of course eventually answer but I think he did go to school in Michigan. My impression was that it was U of M not M-Tech

ah that could be scott, i thought michigan was in there somewhere, will have to wait for the official word.

I was a charter member, but not a true founder, of the University of Michigan Flyers in October 1969. The real founders were Dick Hoesli, Dave Fradin, and Patricia Cleary (later Domas). I was at various times a Board member, Secretary, and Treasurer of the club until I graduated in December 1972.

nice of Ron to mention some of the early members of the University of Michigan Flyers. I and 5 others started the club in 1969. Dick, Pat and Ron followed shortly afterwards.

It was hard to image a University the size of Michigan did not have a club until then. It grew very quickly and we trained hundreds of pilots and owned dozens of aircraft by the time I graduated in 1973.

nice of Ron to mention some of the early members of the University of Michigan Flyers. I and 5 others started the club in 1969. Dick, Pat and Ron followed shortly afterwards.

It was hard to image a University the size of Michigan did not have a club until then. It grew very quickly and we trained hundreds of pilots and owned dozens of aircraft by the time I graduated in 1973.

If I'd had any money (and maybe a bit more sense) in 1969 I would have joined you back then. I do remember seeing a flyer on a bulletin board about the club when I was a freshman at U of M in 1969.

In the beginning, Ron was not the steely pilot he seemed to become.