RNAV Approaches on a Budget

Discussion in 'Avionics and Upgrades' started by MBDiagMan, Jan 30, 2021.

  1. Ryan Klems

    Ryan Klems Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    May 21, 2018
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Rowat
    I totally understand. Just trying to make sure you are going in eyes wide open for the install, much easier process with a pre-approved AFMS and an STC! Not to mention would hate to see you put it in, do all the paperwork and then have Jepp end db support and have spent all the time and money to put it in. If you are doing it as a supervised install or otherwise getting the install inexpensively I could see doing it.
     
  2. MBDiagMan

    MBDiagMan En-Route

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    4,207
    Location:
    NorthEast Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Doc
    This is one of those things that can easily take on “mission creep.”

    Assuming an inexpensive installation, the 155, as long as I could get data updates, could accomplish the mission and be financially justifiable. Stepping up from that, If I could get a bargain on a 400 or 420, I then could move my data cards back and forth between this plane and my Mooney. I don’t fly them both at the same time. There would be economy advantages by not having another data subscription. Once I get to that level of expense though, for a little more,I could just go to a 175. So, where do you stop?

    Food for thought.
     
  3. David Megginson

    David Megginson Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    1,249
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Canuck
    Can you move a database subscription from one radio to another, or is it tied to a specific radio id? I guess you could pretend both radios are in the same plane, and subscribe to an all-in-one package.
     
  4. Alien Mind

    Alien Mind Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Alien Mind
    I'm pulling out my gnc420 next week for a panel upgrade - if you want to make me a reasonable offer, it's yours!
     
  5. MBDiagMan

    MBDiagMan En-Route

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    4,207
    Location:
    NorthEast Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Doc
    Yes, I have been moving my cards back and forth between my Mooney and my son-in-law laws 172 for a couple of years now.
     
    David Megginson likes this.
  6. MBDiagMan

    MBDiagMan En-Route

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    4,207
    Location:
    NorthEast Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Doc
    Can anyone confirm that a King KI202 will work with a non WAAS Garmin 400 or 420?

    Whoops! Never mind! I confirmed this on the Bennet site.
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2021
  7. PIC69B

    PIC69B Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2021
    Messages:
    10
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Joe
    Yes, although you’ll have to make a “y” or splitter. Be sure NOT to have power coming from the GPS as the encoder already gets power from the encoder. This works on a grey code, not sure if on a RS-232.
     
  8. MBDiagMan

    MBDiagMan En-Route

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    4,207
    Location:
    NorthEast Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Doc
    Well, it’s off to the avionics shop tomorrow. Com 1 will be replaced with a 420 non WAAS and NAV 2 will be replaced with a King 202 indicator slaved to the 420. Not very many 140’s out there that can file /G.
     
    GMascelli likes this.
  9. MBDiagMan

    MBDiagMan En-Route

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    4,207
    Location:
    NorthEast Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Doc
  10. asicer

    asicer Final Approach

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Messages:
    6,247
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    asicer
    Nice!

    No glidepath needle on the GNS?
    EDIT: Oh wait, non-WAAS. Duh.
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2021 at 5:41 PM
  11. DenverDave

    DenverDave Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2018
    Messages:
    66
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DenverDave
    That’s a fancy 140!

    How many hours did the install take? Did you use a pre-built harness?
     
  12. MBDiagMan

    MBDiagMan En-Route

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    4,207
    Location:
    NorthEast Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Doc
    I traded an O-200 A case for the installation and got a super price for the 420 and the indicator.

    Now I am hoping to get the Data card updated tomorrow. I’m a little worried about that since I have a Jep Navdata card, but purchased the update from Garmin. It is possibly a problem. I may have to find a Garmin card or go to Jep for the update.
     
  13. MBDiagMan

    MBDiagMan En-Route

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    4,207
    Location:
    NorthEast Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Doc
    I discussed in another thread, but I had trouble getting FlyGarmin data onto the card that was labeled for Jepp Navdata. A friend had an extra Jep Navdata download that he did not use that expires the 22nd anyway. He loaded it on my card no problem. Now I just need to find a way to load the Garmin data I already paid for on another card. I want to leave the card that’s working alone. It gives me something to fly practice approaches with for now.

    It’s great having this working!
     
  14. 455 Bravo Uniform

    455 Bravo Uniform En-Route

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    3,817
    Location:
    KLAF
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    455 Bravo Uniform
    You got the utility you wanted and you increased the value/sellability a tad with not much investment, unlike the “drive off the lot and lose 50%” of brand new avionics install (which is what I did, but don’t regret). Nice job.
     
  15. MauleSkinner

    MauleSkinner Final Approach

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    8,847
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    MauleSkinner
    Fly an approach that you CAN fly to a nearby airport, and then go VFR from there. :D