Random ATC Requests

Cajun_Flyer

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
Cajun Flyer
Question for the ATCers out there.

I'm a student pilot trying to refine my skills in solo time. Returning from another airport last week, I botched up reentering the downwind coming out of a left 360 in right closed traffic. I reentered too tight into the runway, not leaving myself enough space to turn base. Not normally a big deal, but traffic was extra busy that day and there was really no room for mistakes like that. I had traffic straight ahead at my 1:00 coming out his own 360 from the left pattern. Because ATC knew my SP status, they were very accommodating and helped me work my way out of the situation. The other pilot confirmed visual, moved out of my way and offered some words of encouragement. Thanks to both ATC and the other pilot, I was able to stay calm, maneuver and get safely back on the ground.

I plan to go up again early tomorrow. If it's a calm, light traffic morning, I would love to be able to practice reentering downwind out of couple left 360s in right closed pattern, but I don't know if it would be considered appropriate to make that request of tower. Would that be frowned upon? Obviously, I would never make such a request of ATC if there's a lot of traffic and they are busy.

Also, a point of anxiety for me when I'm solo is wondering if they are going to toss me something I don't know how to execute. My airport gets pretty hustle-bustle, so you never know what they are going to throw at you when ****'s hitting the fan. Is it ever OK for a SP on a slow traffic day to ask ATC to throw them a couple curveballs for practice? If so, what's the best way to make that request?

I call the tower on the telephone and explain in plain English what I would like and why.

If they agree to my request I repeat it when talking to ground on the ground frequency.