R-ATP hour reduction question

emmetthr

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
emmetthr
Good morning all,

I'm currently a freshman at a 4-year university, with a flight program (Auburn), currently working on IFR. The program exists as a B.S. in Business Admin with flight ratings through Commercial and a 250 hour reduction toward ATP. This past month, a new option opened up to switch to a more ERAU-style major, offering more aviation oriented classes and a 500 hour reduction. My question to you all is whether or not the additional 250 hours off ATP is worth losing a business degree. From what I've gathered so far, it is not, as, obviously, the more hours the more experience, and more competitive I'll be, along with better career options if I lose my medical somewhere down the line. Thoughts?

If your goal is the airlines, your degree major doesn't really matter. As for having a degree to fall back on, a business degree would probably be more marketable. You have to decide.

If you lose your medical, will you be more marketable with an aviation science degree or a business degree?

Double major?
This. And ideally in something other than business. Something technical.. engineering, software, etc.

500 hours seems like a lot to this non professional pilot. What's in ~15-20 hours of additional sitting-in-class-room that corresponds to that many flight hours?

500 hours seems like a lot to this non professional pilot. What's in ~15-20 hours of additional sitting-in-class-room that corresponds to that many flight hours?

LOL, nothing. Congress just gave built in discounts to large schools' students.

This. And ideally in something other than business. Something technical.. engineering, software, etc.

The difference is "only" an additional 250...less than 6 months at most flying jobs.

Thanks for the input. The business/new aviation degree is a requirement to be part of the program, but a double major or additional certification is always a possibility.