Question regarding failures of ILS equipment

MN_Flyer

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
MN_Flyer
I posted this on another forum, but thought I would re-post here to see if anyone has any other ideas:

I am an IFR student and experienced something unexpected today on an ILS approach and would like to learn more about what happened.

Long story short, when identifying the localizer, the morse code seemed faster than normal and I did not think I heard the dashes, just the dots. My attention was divided and my instructor thought he had a positive ID, but agreed that it was difficult to hear.

I was vectored onto final and watched the localizer needle come alive. I was not able to center the needle though and it indicated a left correction was needed, despite my being right of coarse according to the GPS. 2miles to faf, I saw a flag briefly come up on the localizer needle and was ready to go missed. My instructor reported the aronious indications to the tower and they reset the localizer. After this, all was normal and I was able to get back on coarse just inside of the faf.

So.... How common is this type of failure of ILS equipment on the ground? I called the tower later and the controller said that this just happens sometimes. I think I would have chased the needle a little more had I not been /g. The field did not have radar service, so I was on my own.

Also, how is the morse code generated on a localizer? My theory is that one side of the localizer may have been inop or intermittent, so my indicator was showing only that frequency and was missing the other frequency to compare to. I wonder if the morse code is generated by a combination of the two sides of the localizer. This would explain why it sounded strange.

Thank you for any help that you can provide. I am glad that I experienced this and want to learn how to better protect myself from any similar failures in IMC in the future.