Question re Approach

Llewtrah381

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Llewtrah
The ILS 30 at KJEF has the usual table of mins for the different approach options but right below it is another table called “WAPGY Fix Minimums”. In that one, there are no mins for the ILS but the S-LOC-30 mins are actually 200 feet lower than the table above (circling mins are the same). What’s that table for and when does it apply? Is it when you’re able to identify WAPGY, via DME or GPS? Given that “ADF or DME (is) required”, it would seem like that would always be the case anyway (unless you really just had ADF and no DME or GPS, I guess).

8D8C8582-80EB-4433-BDA5-6F025309D7FD.jpeg

Yes, I'm not a TERPS expert like some here, but you're exactly right:

If you only have a localizer needle and an ADF, you can't identify WAPGY and therefore the MDA is 1080’. If you have DME or GPS and therefore can identify WAPGY (and/or presumably if ATC can inform you when you're passing WAPGY via radar, though I have no experience in that way of doing things) you can descend to 880’ after passing it (until reaching the missed approach point).

My speculation is that the WAPGY minimum crossing altitude of 1080 on the profile view matching the MDA of 1080 if you can't identify WAPGY is no accident -- there is some obstacle around there that requires 1080' in order to clear by TERPS. If you can identify WAPGY, you know when you've passed it, and can descend further. If you can't, you can't. That's also why it doesn't affect the ILS: If you are on glideslope, the obstacle is no factor. And circling approach isn't affected because its minimum is higher anyway.