psychiatrist or HIMS psychiatrist

A

aviationenthusiast

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting here. I have been granted an extension by the FAA until early June to hand in all documentation in an attempt to receive my first class medical certificate. I need to schedule with a "board certified" psychiatrist known to the FAA or hims psychiatrist as soon as possible. I live in Philadelphia but I am willing drive or fly somewhere if need be. I have a friend that lives in Tampa and can easily stay there. Any suggestions are appreciated, especially you have personal experience with them. Thank you

I think it depends on what has already happened that led to the FAA requesting documentation. See Dr. Bruce Chien's post from just earlier today, and there are lots of long discussions about the pitfalls elsewhere on this forum as well.

The agency wants a dissertation according to part 67. SOMETIMES RARELY a community FORENSIC pscyhatrist provides enough information (google this: "forensic psychiatrist Philadelphia PA) and you'll get a couple.

There are two HIMS pscyhiatrists in metro PA both quite good- but FAA constrains HIMS AMEs from giving out the names. If we do, we get dismissed. They insist that we do the due diligence with also includes among all your records, the AME Version of the FAA medical record which takes a while to get. Because sometimes the situation requres somethign completely different from whqat the FAA thinks it wants. The purpose of the HIMS Psychiatrist names being near classified is to make sure you cannot "shop an opinion".

You can, after you have an appointment, ask FAA for an extenstion to just after that date...but you have to do it before the date in the letter you have.

So, If you want to use a HMS psychiatrist who lives eats and breathes part 67 defs of disease, you need to get to one via a HIMS AME. We are, the "scut puppies" of the FAA psychiatry system.

B

Last edited: