Prospective Student in Indianapolis

imemyself

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
imemyself
Hey, I'm a prospective student pilot in central Indiana. I've been interested in aviation since I was a young kid (I'm 24). I'm now to the point where I can reasonably afford to seriously look at getting a pilot's license. I don't have any close friends that are pilots though, so I'm looking for some advice on getting started. I'm not planning on pursuing any kind of a career as a pilot, just for personal enjoyment.

I've been debating between sport pilot vs. private pilot. I'm leaning towards private pilot because it seems like it's a lot more flexible. But on the flip side I'm honestly not sure how frequently I will make use of it, so perhaps it might be better to go the sport pilot route, since it would be a fair amount cheaper.

Does it make sense to start with a sport pilot license, and then go on to get a PPL when/if I'm sure it's something I will use often? Or will I be throwing a lot of time and money away if I do that instead of just going for a PPL from the start?

I've seen a few threads on here about what to look for in a flight school. I'm planning on scheduling a discovery flight soon, and maybe doing a couple of them at different places to get a feel for each. Does anyone have any personal experience with flight schools around Indy? There are a couple places at the Greenwood airport I am considering (Jeff Air Pilot Services, and Fast Track Flight), as well as Indy Flight Training at Indianapolis Regional airport.

I'm open to other suggestions as well if there is some place else I should look at (or any other general advice for someone in my situation).

Thanks! :)

I don't think you will actually get by a lot cheaper going with the SP versus the PP. Theoretically maybe, but in actual practice, probably not a huge difference.