premature identification

eman1200

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Bro do you even lift
does anyone squeeze out an IDENT sooner than you should.......like AS you're asking for flight following instead of waiting for them to ask for an ident? let me clarify, this never happens to me. I don't do this, but was wondering if there's anything wrong with giving an early flash while you're talking to them. I know they don't always ask for one, sometimes they do.

scenario 1:
eman: Bonooney 69X 5 files from X request FF to Y
ATC: 69X squawk 6969 and ident

scenario 2:
eman: Monanza 69X 5 files from X <IDENT> request FF to Y
ATC: yikes, you, um, ok you idented already, no problem. maybe we can try it again in a few minutes?

I have no ATC experience, but I would assume that having an unexpected and unprompted flash on their screen could be a distraction? Not sure how bright or distracting the ident flash is, but it could be one reason not to ident unless asked to do so first.

I would also assume it has everything to do with the controller and how busy their airspace is at the moment as to whether or not they would care.

Every time I've asked for flight following in the past year, OK it was only twice, the transponder failed.
First time the "ident" was broken. Paid to get it fixed.
Three weeks later when I pushed the "ident" button the transponder went up in smoke.
I'm a little hesitant about pushing the button anymore.

Hahahaha! Nice work, eman.

And no, I *never* do that. ;)

Never put yer finger on the trigger until ready to fire...

Every time I've asked for flight following in the past year, OK it was only twice, the transponder failed.
First time the "ident" was broken. Paid to get it fixed.
Three weeks later when I pushed the "ident" button the transponder went up in smoke.
I'm a little hesitant about pushing the button anymore.

The Cub has a transponder? ;)