Precise consistent landings

I watching for the video when he bends the plane and can’t get insurance.

As always, I'm on the fence. On one hand, it's amazing flying, on the other hand, I think it causes people to think this is a normal or safe way to fly. I have no problem with experienced pilots doing this kind of thing, knowing the hazards present and skills needed, but someone new to the hobby can kill themselves very quickly attempting this sort of thing. Slapping an AOA on a plane is not enough to make this safe.

Why couldn't he get insurance? My policy has no exclusion for off airport landings.

As always, I'm on the fence. On one hand, it's amazing flying, on the other hand, I think it causes people to think this is a normal or safe way to fly. I have no problem with experienced pilots doing this kind of thing, knowing the hazards present and skills needed, but someone new to the hobby can kill themselves very quickly attempting this sort of thing. Slapping an AOA on a plane is not enough to make this safe.
I guess we shouldn't allow fighter pilots or aerobatic pilots to make flying videos either then. :rolleyes:

I guess we shouldn't allow fighter pilots or aerobatic pilots to make flying videos either then. :rolleyes:
I think you need to read my post slower next time. It's the packaging that makes it seem so normal / mainstream / easy that bothers me.

Why couldn't he get insurance? My policy has no exclusion for off airport landings.
Do you have a previous accident from an off airport landing while making videos?

I am not against back country flying with a purpose. If you flying in fishing, camping, hunting and practicing technique off season go for it.

If said person is dumb enough to be influenced by a YouTube video, to attempt maneuvers beyond their skill set, then there isn’t much you can do. Every pilot should know their own limitations and if they don’t, they shouldn’t be flying in the first place.