Prebuy advice/2004 M7-180AC

keb0

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
keb0
Hello, looking for advice regarding prebuy inspection of a 2004 M7 located in the midwest. I live in AK so trying to do this from a distance if possible. It has 437 TT, A and Eng., and appears to have been well kept in a heated corporate hangar, at least the past 15 years. Two owners, look to have treated the plane very well. I'm not a mechanic and seeking advise on what I should insist on for the prebuy other than the basic checklist. Comps are mid 70's and similar. It's headed into annual next week. Should I have a cyl pulled and inspect the cam? Would you expect an 18 yo 0360 to go a while? Thanks, Kenneth

I'm not a mechanic and seeking advise on what I should insist on for the prebuy other than the basic checklist.
First, I'd sit down with the mechanic you plan to use in AK to maintain this aircraft and get his input. If not he'll definitely be the first person to tell you where you screwed up on the prebuy and how much it will cost to fix it. Good luck.

First, I'd sit down with the mechanic you plan to use in AK to maintain this aircraft and get his input. If not he'll definitely be the first person to tell you where you screwed up on the prebuy and how much it will cost to fix it. Good luck.
Yessir, just located a local guy and showed him all the available info. He thinks it looks great so far. Thanks

I doubt the seller will allow you to pull a cylinder. I know I wouldn't. Have your inspector do his normal inspection on the engine and the "pre buy" should focus on airframe.