ppl training on tailwheel

scarybus320

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
scarybus320
PPL training on a tail-wheel citabria.

hi everyone, I am new here and would like to have some feed back from you guys on tail wheel.

I have logged 20hours on a citabria in 7 weeks since start my ppl training, prior to that I have no flying experience and 25 years old. I am almost there for solo but, my landings are bad and got frustrated from those 15knots crosswind from local airport with 2400ftx65ft runway.
if there a good way to be more proactive and get a better feel on the airplane before it starts to drifting, or going side ways. and after touch down, is there any good ways to sense the rudder fade. as my instructor have been told me, more practice and more practice. but I just couldn't make a smooth touch down like what he did. after 20landings for the past 3 days, i felt like, am I the only one have this problem.

Damian DelGaizo's tail-wheel training dvds are one of my training material. I found it helpful.

extra questions

what is the average hours for people to go on a first solo and get ppl from flying tail-wheel.
is it just my instructor, or in general. if I don't ask a question, they don't tell me much, when I asked, there will be a lot of stuff to explain from.

Last edited:
One recommendation is to make sure you are looking at the far end of the runway and not the runway directly in front of you as you start the flare. You will have a much better time detecting drift....kind of like the difference in gunsights on a pistol vs a rifle. Your accuracy is much better with the long arm.

As for feel, try to find a copy of Sparky Imeson's book Taildragger Tactics:
http://www.amazon.com/Taildragger-Tactics-Sparky-Imeson/dp/1880568705

He has some good info on rudder usage techniques that he explains a little better than I can.

hi everyone, I am new here and would like to have some feed back from you guys on tail wheel.