Potential Avionics upgrade path

Dan Gordon

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Dgplo
I’m a VFR pilot with older IFR equipment in my plane. I’m looking to upgrade the panel and am no avionics expert. Current equipment:

Bendix king KI 209 Glide slope indicator.
King KI 208 VOR indicator.
KN 53 NAV.
MX 170C NAVCOM.
296 Dock Mounted Garmin Gps.
Vertical card Compass.
Sigtronics intercom.
KMA 20 Audio panel.
King Ky 197 digital flip flop com.

Was thinking of the following: keep the 170C and KN53 nav and dump the 197 and add the Garmin GPS 175 as well as the PSE Par200b audio panel/comm radio combo.

Another option…is dumping the 170c and KY197 and replacing with a used gns 430W 14v.

Am I on the right path? I plan to stay VFR through the year and most likely train for IFR in 1-2 years. plane is a Piper Cherokee 140 with upgraded 160 engine…

Last edited:
Got a pic?

You could pay the installation cost for the 430W now, then upgrade to IFD-440 later as it’s a slide-in replacement (1 hr labor using the existing 430W tray if all the wiring is there) and then resell the 430W. The IFD-440 will allow you to use an iPad with the free IFD-100 app as a second GPS unit so you’ll have a big screen, which can help with approaches and situational awareness...or distract you like it did me during training.

Save one of your old radios as navcom 2.

Save both indicators for each navcom.

Not familiar with that audio panel, bit if you can get more mileage out of it, why not. There are some altitude and warning annunciations on the IFD that should be wired up.

Last edited:
KMA 20 audio panel, King KY 197 with King 206 and King 209, TKM 170c Navcomm. Also have an old Garmin portable 296 gps hardwired

Was thinking of the following: keep the 170C, dump the 197 and add the Garmin GPS 175 as well as the PSE Par200b audio panel/comm radio combo.
You have 2 indicators but only 1 NAV source?

Also, do you have a GS coupled with the 170c?