Post solo stuff...

WannFly

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Priyo
ok so asking for some opinions here (yah I asked for it).

I am done with 2 solo now, the 2rd one was scheduled, but I wasn't at my best and decided to do dual. coming Friday, weather permitting, the plan is to go to the practice area solo. now here is the problem... I was under the impression that I will get a endorsement with limitations and fly whenever the heck I want. apparently that's not what my CFI prescribes to. he would like to review the ATIS with me (or at least via text) before I can hop in the plane and take off. that puts a damper in my plan, and I don't want to wake him up at 5 AM because its calm outside....

lets not make this a CFI bashing thread, that's not the point here. He is a great CFI and I am sticking with him and respect his decision. as a new pilot I don't mind if a CFI reviews my plan before I take off.

my plan was to go up whenever I can and practice the maneuvers until it becomes second in nature (I already did them with the CFI, but doing them with the CFI and doing it alone knowing there is no backup are 2 diff things) or just go up and sit at 5k and enjoy life, which might still happen, just not as much I hoped. I understand I need 5 hrs or so solo time for the check ride, but I don't think 5 hrs is enough confidence builder for taking up near and dear ones... so my plan was to do as much solo as I can before the check ride, guess that's not happening and most of my solo times will be after the check ride. I do plan to do more than required number / amount of XC, so there is that. I guess what I am asking is.... for people out there who are / were in similar shoes a mine.. how did you build up confidence before you took up passengers? and where is the line between becoming a good pilot and just passing the check ride and meet minimum standards?