Portable Oxygen systems

StinkBug

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Dallas
On my trip this summer I borrowed a very nice system from a friend and now I'm looking to get a system of my own, especially after watching my passenger get hypoxic after electing not to use O2 like I suggested (I was using, and doing great).

I've looked into the system I borrowed, and unfortunately it's WAY outside my budget, especially for the small amount of time I spend at those heights. There are some deals to be had on Ebay for used stuff, but I wanna make sure I don't buy the wrong thing. I've found a number of different systems and noticed that there are several different styles of valve on the bottles as well. I'm a welder, so I'm pretty familiar with the various industrial valves, but usually they are somewhat gas specific with welding tanks. It seems Oxygen for breathing is a different story.

For example, the tank I used this summer had valve similar to my welding tanks, like the one on the left here. Many of the one's I've seen for sale have what I'm used to seeing as a medical tank valve like the one on the right.

02-b.jpg

I've also seen some others that appear to have the regulator built into the valve, or with a small knob on the side and the outlet going straight up.

My question is am I going to have any issues getting the tank refilled because of one type of tank valve or the other? I've tried asking the guys at 3 of the gas suppliers I use for work, but all of them are clueless when it comes to aviation o2. They all send the tanks out to be filled, and if it's a medical tank you have to have a prescription so I wanna make sure I don't end up with that headache. Unfortunately my FBO also does not fill, so they weren't much help either.