Plane choice?

Loveair

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Loveair
I am a student pilot with 14 hours air time. I am really close to Solo. My CFI is talking about it more each time. An offer came up for a 50% share on a 182. I flew it with my CFI and loved it. I called the guy that I would be purchasing the 50% from and made an offer. He said the other 50% owner had decided to buy him out and it was no longer available. :confused: I was taken to the prom and left at the door. Don't blame the other guy. It was a sweet plane. Anyway I now have the bug to own. I fly a 1968 172 in the school. I have also flown a small low wing. I am looking to buy something similar to capacity, speed, and cost as the 182. I loved the 182. But I know there are lots of makes, models, styles out there. What would the recommended plane be??

Welcome aboard.

There are a lot of good types with which to get your first ownership experience, but no one that is a best-fit-for-all.

Some questions first:

What part of the country do you live in, and what do you think will be your typical mission after you get your license -- i.e., how many passengers, typical trip lengths, destinations, etc. Do you plan to use short, unimproved airstrips? High-altitudes? Mostly local $100 hamburger runs or a lot of serious long-distance work? Plan to eventually get your instrument rating?

As a 182 owner, I'm a little biased, but they do a lot of things well, but they aren't outstanding in many areas.:D Good useful loads, pretty good speed, fuel efficiency isn't as good as Bonanzas or Mooneys, simple to fly and maintain. I plan on 130-135 knots and 12-13 GPH. It would be a simple transition from the 172, I learned from 0 hours in a 182.
Don't be upon a huge hurry to buy something, check out several different models and by all means make sure whatever you buy, it will hold all the folks you are planning on taking!:D

Welcome aboard.