Pilots/controllers common cause

Matthew

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Matthew
I visited my local FAA tower this weekend and spent about an hour talking to the controllers on duty.

I'm a student and asked them questions regarding common mistakes pilots make, what to look out for, and how to avoid giving away the fact that I'm a beginner.

Their main suggestions -

Be ready before you make a request (example - don't be turned around in the run-up area and ask for take-off clearance, they can see you and know you're not ready until you are at the hold-short lines. These actions seems to strike a nerve).

And know what you want to say before you key the mike ('umms', 'ahhhs', and mike-fright don't go over very well at all).

Granted, these two are basically common sense and good practice for any communications. Any other particular courtesies pilots should extend to controllers?

What about pilot pet-peeves regarding controllers? I hope I haven't opened up too big a can of worms.

Matt

Matthew said:
What about pilot pet-peeves regarding controllers? I hope I haven't opened up too big a can of worms.

Matt
If you're having a bad day or didn't get any last night, it's highly unlikely the three planes in the pattern and four inbound had anything to do with it. Keep your emotions and stress on your side of the microphone, please.

Peeves for controllers:

If you have to repeat yourself to more than one aircraft, you might:
1. Be eating your microphone ("Charlie Brown Teacher Syndrome")
2. Have radio/headset problems

It's not necessarily the plane's radio and/or pilot.

(I've often decided not to get flight following in the Newark NJ area due to mush-mouthed controllers.)

Pet peeves for pilots:

If you just heard the controller turn down VFR services to another plane, don't ask for yourself. You won't get them, and you just upped his workload further.