Pilot incapacitation and modern AP with Level button

WannFly

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Priyo
Lets talk about this scenario and for the sake of this discussion lets keep the chute and AutoLand out of this. they are cool and all, but lets stick to a scenario with a 40 year old plane with modern AP. I have no experience with these kind of APs other than reading a manual of GFC 500

So the pilot is incapacitated, the pax have some experience in the right seat, knows which button to push, can talk on the radio, tune frequencies and all.

the plane is at say 5500, pax pushes the Level bottom or it engages itself. what are the possible scenarios:

1. If pax is not talking with ATC and receives no instructions
The plane keeps flying, eventually runs out of gas, airspeed starts to decline, minimum speed protection kicks in at some point to lower the nose and stops you from stalling. under 500 feet ESP disconnects, but it has done its job and the plane is somewhat trimmed (would it?). i would think the landing would be survivable on a road / pavement barring any obstacle

2. Pax is talking to ATC, gets vectored to an airport.
Lets assume the pax knows OR is instructed on how to engage the AP and turn heading bug. sets IAS target to 70 on final approach and just cuts the throttle - i would think it will be a crappy landing and all, but definitely survivable. heck that landing might even be better than most of my landings.

3. other scenarios that i cant think of now

Thoughts? If you fly with your SO or a regular pax, have you briefed them on similar scenarios?

Once i get my plane back i am going to try a few things like cutting throttle at altitude, hit level and see what George does to protect me from decaying airspeed.