pilot flight bag

James Jolly Jr

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
jollyjam
I'm a new private pilot student and would like to know what other new pilots have in their flight bag.

I carried a lot more stuff in my flight bag when I was training than I do now. i went from a really large flight bag to one that's about 1/4 the size. as you move through your training you'll figure out what you should have and what you don't need.

I used to keep chewing gum. But I left my bag in the plane on the tarmac in Phoenix once. I then bought a new flight bag.

Things I KEEP in my flight bag:
AA batteries for the headsets and a (partial) roll of quarters. The quarters actually came in handy when I landed at an unattended airport with no cell service, but they did have this weird thing on the wall that allowed you to put quarters in it and make a phone call. I also keep a leatherman, which has come in handy a couple of times.
dual USB cigarette lighter adapter and charging cords.

Things I need room for because I load them up each flight:

Ipad,
notebook and pens (for writing ATC instructions and fuel management stuff).
Stratus
Usually a couple of old sectionals, just in case.

And anything else I suspect I might need, like a pack of peanuts or a spare pair of underwear for those really scary situations.

90% of the time I don't carry a flight bag. Some find it necessary to carry the whole barn with them, but I don't.

I carry the necessities and that's it (water, sectional, pen, headset etc.)

80% of the time I don't carry a flight bag. Not necessary.

I carry the necessities and that's it (water, sectional, pen, headset etc.)
I'd say about 10% of the time I don't carry one. But most of my flights are cross country.

As a student I had living in my Flight Bag:

Headset
Sectionals
Airport Diagrams for each flight (opted to not use FF till after PPL)
Kneeboard
Butt Gel Cushion...my trainer seat SUCKED
Spare pens...would always drop them