Past Lives and FAA Medical

Time will tell, Ken, for each of us.

-Rich

Not if it just "ends". We won't be any the wiser...

Ponder this thought for a moment and see where it leads you.

You are sitting at your computer reading this. You see the screen and are comprehending what you see. You are conscious of everything around you. You cannot, however, put yourself in someone else's head and see what they see. They, one the other hand, have the same experience you do. They are aware of their surroundings, but cannot put themselves in your head. I'm sitting here typing this, fully aware of my surroundings. And wondering, why is this consciousness here and now? What is it that makes me "me"?

I don't think it was a random act over a period of a few billion years.

I don't think it was a random act over a period of a few billion years.

I'm a geologist. I don't think it was a random act over a period of a few billion years either. I think it was more like a googol of random acts over those few billion years.... influenced by another few googols of random acts over a few billion years that proceeded the formation of the solar system.

Once you accept all the scientific evidence for "deep time", and really wrap your mind around just how long the time involved is, the randomness of it all becomes a lot more evident.

If our species can keep from making itself extinct, in another 200 years our current understanding of the universe will seem incredibly quaint.

Jeff

I'm a geologist. I don't think it was a random act over a period of a few billion years either. I think it was more like a googol of random acts over those few billion years.... influenced by another few googols of random acts over a few billion years that proceeded the formation of the solar system.

Once you accept all the scientific evidence for "deep time", and really wrap your mind around just how long the time involved is, the randomness of it all becomes a lot more evident.