Passed checkride... feeling weird

rene86mx

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
rene86mx
I need to vent with pilots... sorry for the long rant

Finally today after 1 year and 3 months of officially being enrolled in the equivalent of a Part 141 school I passed my checkride. (I am studying in Mexico)

I got to the airport for my 11 AM checkride, DPEs normally don´t ride on PPL checkrides since 99% of Mexican pilots will become CPL or ATP and they think a PPL is something that is not cool for them. Normally your CFI would act as DPE and fill out the checkride forms where the CFI approves/disapproves your actions from preflight to securing the airplane.

I went to the DPE office where he handed the checkride forms and wished me luck. My school has 2 bases one at an uncontrolled field (MMJC) where I did around 80% of my flight time in the vicinity of Mexico City and the second one on Mexico´s second busiest airport because of all the private jets (MMTO) which is catalogued as Class C.

Out of the 5 C172 G1000 airplanes I have flown around 70% in the one they assigned me, so I think I know the airplane as good as I know me. I do the preflight, my CFI (school assigns CFIs so this is my second ride with him) tells me everything looks fine and that this should be just a normal flight to the training zone, some maneuvers, T&G and complete landing.

Just when I was finishing the preflight and texting my wife, the DPE comes to the platform and says that he would be riding with us. I really didn´t bother about it and thought that this was just one more normal training flight. The 3 of us board and continue with the checklists, just as I was contacting Ground and instructed to follow a Falcon 900 and G-550 I realized how cool was that finally I was about to officially become a pilot.