Passed CFI-S Checkride

vdehart

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
vdehart
Howdy folks,

Any tips for a fledgling CFI who just passed his CFI-Sport airplane single engine land checkride? I'll be taking on a few students shortly, and would love some advice from the flight instructors on this board. Any important lessons that you would have for a new flight instructor? Invaluable advice? I'm open to anything and everything.

A little background on myself: I am a student of general aviation. I am not interested in moving up to the airlines (not that there is anything wrong with that, but it just doesn't interest me). I honestly just look forward to teaching as a passion and being the best flight instructor I can while running my businesses as a primary source of income. I'd eventually like to open or acquire a flight school in the local area that focuses on light sport aviation. I'd eventually also like to purchase an Airplane Factory Sling and an Evektor SportStar to teach and rent. I learned to fly in Piper and Cessna and more recently transitioned into light sport aircraft. I'll be teaching in The Airplane Factory Sling S-LSA.

Thank you :)!

Last edited:
Well, I'm behind the game about a CFI sport, but obviously it's a check ride so congratulations are in order!!

Congrats. now go find some sport students and go to work.

One of the things I have to continually work on as an instructor is letting pilots make errors. If I correct anything as soon as it comes up, I'm not allowing the student to a) recognize the error himself, or b) come up with the solution himself.

Obviously there's only so far you can let things develop in an airplane, but identifying the point where you need to point it the error so the student can make the correction or take control yourself to save the situation involves significant amounts of both art and science...and the proper place for one student may not be the proper place for another, so it's also a moving target.:yes: