PA-28-180 Wing Spar Concern

lbsulli

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
lbsulli
Hi guys! New member here. I’m a student pilot working on my PPL. My family has had a ‘68 Cherokee 180 for a couple years now. My dad and I are new to the aviation world and are training simultaneously. Studying through the plane logs a while back, I noticed an AD letter from years ago regarding the wing spars. It started to concern me as there were no log entries regarding inspection of this AD. However, I found out our serial number was not included.

Anyway, the more recent AD that is apparently all the craze right now, does include our serial number. Our annual was in February. In the log entry, it’s noted that the AD was acknowledged, inspected, defects were noted, and re-inspection is due in 2028.

Because of past incidents/accidents, I’m a little uptight about the whole wing spar thing. However, I just wanted to put my concern out there. Deep down inside, I’m probably reaching out in search of reassurance as this is inherently something that crosses my mind every time I go fly. Being new to all this, I’m not familiar with the detailed structure of aircraft, how maintenance and inspections work, etc. I’m just curious how concerned I should actually be if any at all.

My apologies for the long post and I appreciate any and all responses. Thank you!

I’m not totally up to speed on the details of the AD that has recently been released. I would also however have concerns if an eddy current inspection was done, “defects” which I presume would be cracks were found, and it was returned to service without repair. Unless you can track down the IA and get more detail it sounds to me like it should be done again and properly noted.

Our annual was in February. In the log entry, it’s noted that the AD was acknowledged, inspected, defects were noted, and re-inspection is due in 2028.