Owner of a plane comped for fuel for ride along?

LongRoadBob

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Jacker
I couldn't even really pick a good subject line for this.

Is it "normal" in say talking with an owner about his aircraft to hint at taking a ride with them, covering the fuel costs?

I'm a student, and maybe too it makes a difference if you are still learning or a fully fledged pilot?

This idea came to me from visiting the airport where I am learning to fly when they had an air show day. They had some spitfires (wow...I was blown away) but mostly through the day there were planes on exhibition, with the owners standing by the planes talking with passers by.

I have only flown GA, in a Cessna 172, trained so far in an Aquila, and now a Piper Warrior II.
But there were a lot of Piper Cubs, and I have always been really curious about flying in a tail wheel airplane, and also with such a different configuration (front and back seat). I think I'd really like to experience that.

I know a passenger can offer to split the fuel, and other costs associated with that flight with a non commercial pilot. But can a passenger offer to pay total fuel costs for example?

At this point I'm thinking that if I talk with an owner, and show my true interest level, it might be up to them to mention it if they wanted to, I wouldn't presume, but if it happened I'd really prefer to pay since it would be 90% my benefit, I wouldn't feel right for them to eat some of the cost.

Sorry I wrote so clumsily, you get the Idea though I hope. Would it be rude or an imposition to hint at it?

What Unit74 said.

Technically no. But I'm sure it happens. The FAA doesn't want people making money off of things like that. But are they going to care about the 45 minutes of fuel in a cub with one owner who gets to show off his plane? Doubt it.