Overtime as cfi

falconkidding

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
Falcon Kidding
So I work as a CFI in Alabama enjoy my job but we don’t get overtime pay. Bama doesn’t have any overtime or lunch break laws so FLSA applies. We get between 40-60 hrs a week are full time w2 employees but don’t get time and a half for over 40. My understanding is that they are counting on a professional exemption which from my reading the dept of labor doesn’t consider pilots as exempt. (Outside of 121 and 135 ops)Although case law is both ways.

Any advice? Do I kick that hornets nest? It’s kind of expected to work 7 days a week and we are scheduled full days with no breaks but we put up with it cause we’ll fly 120-150+hrs a month and it’s easy Instructing. I feel being so willing to take whatever is offered is kinda setting the standard for people behind me that they’ll have to do the same.

What are you looking to do long term? Kicking the hornets’ nest is a much easier decision to make when you’re not worried about how it’ll affect your next step.

120-150 hrs a month? Holy smokes. Nice thing is you’ll get your 1500 super quick.

I don't have any advice for you, but I suspect that if you push for time and a half, they'll cut your hours and either bring on more instructors or reduce their student load. Raising instructor rates will inevitably raise training rates, which could result in lost business.

So I suspect that if you want to build hours sooner, you're probably better not saying anything. If you're more interested in having a balanced life, speak up. Keep in mind this may effect other instructors as well and they might not be happy with the outcome.

@falconkidding - you stated Full-time and W2... but are you hourly or salary? And if Salary are you exempt or non-exempt?

Examples: [Grossly simplified]
I'm W2 and hourly. My hourly rate is over the threshold where time and half goes away, so I get $0.50 for each hour.