Our "friends" at USA Today

"End an egregious subsidy to corporations and wealthy individuals.

Result in lower ticket prices or, more likely, let the FAA undertake a much-needed and expensive upgrade to its system.

Encourage airlines to substitute larger jets for smaller regional aircraft that have barely enough legroom for a child or bin space for an iPod.
The proposal would have some impact on amateur pilots, particularly if they fly around major cities. It would have a bigger impact on corporate jets that more frequently fly in these crowded corridors."

Beautiful, just beautiful. If you can't have it, then take it away from the ones that do. Thank you President Bush, thank you USA Today. :mad:

Corporate jet-setters and amateur pilots constitute some of the most powerful and feared lobbies in Washington.

Wow, I didn't know I was an amateur pilot... that's not what my certificate says.

I'm also supprised that I'm powerful and feared in Washington.

Missa

Wonder if the writer is a Pilot.

Missa
Ed Bolen is president of the National Business Aviation Association, which represents companies that use small planes for business.

Can you feel the love?
http://blogs.knoxnews.com/knx/silence/archives/2007/02/fly_the_crowded_1.shtml
Nice reply by "Hognose" though.

Actually, it's gonna be a losing battle for the airlines if they go after Corporate Jets, which IS what they are going after. Lesseee... we have 5 companies that no one loves vs. the CEOs of every major corporation. You know, that second group is the guys who never get what they want in Washington.:rolleyes:

Those two groups could join together and pin the costs on the rest of us. Maybe once they make it so we have to pay the equivalent of the aircraft's value in fees annually.

I think AOPA and EAA and NBAA are working together, though.

Last edited:
Well, sh*t. I've been demoted to "amateur pilot". Kiss my ass.