Oral Exam Gotchas

Grum.Man

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
Grum.Man
As my IFR checkride approaches I stress more about the oral testing than the flying. I feel like I am well prepared but am curious if anyone remembers some questions you were asked that tripped you up? I studied all sorts of material from the ground school I took, online studying I did, and some online content I have found both via youtube and other published sources. Fire away!

Not a specific question (my IR oral is in the future) but in general, answer the question they ask and shut up. "Do you have a pencil?" Wrong: "I have a pen and a mechanical pencil,, #2 but I like #4 better. I also have magic markers and sharpies...." Right: "Yes."

Not a specific question (my IR oral is in the future) but in general, answer the question they ask and shut up. "Do you have a pencil?" Wrong: "I have a pen and a mechanical pencil,, #2 but I like #4 better. I also have magic markers and sharpies...." Right: "Yes."
Yea I've gotten the tips and tricks down pat, looking more at content. Thanks for the advice though.

Review of the ACS will help you. That's their "script" of the questions they would ask.

My exam was very much a discussion from a practical standpoint. Emphasizing the items I should know in order to fly IFR safely. The areas my oral that got me a little tongue tied was lost comm items, a few of the "what do you need to see in order to legally land" items, and a proper explanation of the pitot-static system, what it controls, failure modes, and what you're allowed to do when it goes tango uniform....

Another area that we spent time on was GPS systems and specifically the one in my airplane. He wanted to make sure that I knew what I needed to know to load/activate departures, arrivals, and approaches. Then he stumped me with the question of what criteria causes the system to switch from ENR (enroute) to TERM to APPR.