(Non aviation) Hip Replacement

Let'sgoflying!

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Dave Taylor
What questions should be asked, issues looked into before a total hip replacement is done?

The surgeon has provided a good package of patient information, but I am looking for things the average person may not think about.

Thanks.
(No, not me - my hips still have their Shakira-like youthfulness.)

You should ask about the risks of surgery, the length of time in the hospital, the length of rehab, how much pain to anticipate after surgery, how much time before resumption of activities, limitations following the procedure, and how long should it last.

You can do a search and see how many malpractice claims have been brought against the surgeon.

Best way to get the true story is to ask people who actually work in the operating room. Worst way is to get info from former patients, whose information would be purely subjective.

FWIW I work as a practicing orthopaedic surgeon and professor of orthopaedic surgery at a major university hospital specializing in joint replacement.

You should ask about the risks of surgery, the length of time in the hospital, the length of rehab, how much pain to anticipate after surgery, how much time before resumption of activities, limitations following the procedure, and how long should it last.
A good place to start.
You can do a search and see how many malpractice claims have been brought against the surgeon.
This is reasonable but be careful how you interpret the results. Most physicians are sued at one time or another and not all lawsuits are legitimate.
Best way to get the true story is to ask people who actually work in the operating room.
Possibly true, but not very practical since it would be hard to track them down to ask. Ancillary personnell can be subject to various biases and are unlikely to have knowledge of long term results.