No progress

cyclepro

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Cyclepro
So I started training November 18, 2012 I currently have around 41 hours into my ppl, I've yet to solo and I feel like I'm making no progress.
There were 2 months where I couldn't fly due to school, that caused pretty big set backs then another 4 months because my instructor left and weather and finding a new instructor. I'm currently working on landings and emergency procedures.
I feel like it's been a very long road to no where. It's very discouraging.

I've said it before and I'll say it again. Hours are just that...hours. It's not a contest to see who can do it in the fewest (okay maybe there is) Save up some money. Find an instructor that is not on the career track and get it done.

It takes focus. Put your other "priorities" to the side and fly the wings off the airplane and report back when you solo.

Big time gaps in the early stages do cause regression.
41 hours in a year and a half is a slow pace for this point in the training - and as you suspect you are paying to re-fly the same lesson in the PTS multiple times.
Do as Sara suggests and first find an instructor who agrees to a regular schedule and is a bit older than the usual which means he should be around rather than moving on in 6 months. (old and grizzled is good)
Then schedule a couple of hours with him so he can sit down with you afterwards and give you a critique of your strengths and weaknesses.

Assuming that you two agree that continuing to train is in your best interest, you might consider borrowing some money to prepay for a block of airplane and instructor time so that finances are not causing gaps.
Other than the discouragement factor it does not matter if your training takes two years or five assuming you are enjoying the experience.

The flip side is if these bumps in your training are causing only stress and anger perhaps it is time to move on to something else. Only you can decide that.
Luck to you my friend.