Night landings

signu127

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Sig-Nu
My CFI has me flaring a little higher at night and adding a small amount of power as I slowly descend to the runway. Is this a normal practice that everybody does at night? I can understand flaring higher when landing without the landing lights but with the lights I can see just fine. Honestly, I don't like it. I am doing as I am told but I would rather land like I always do during the day. So is this what everybody does at night or is it just for my training?

thanks

I'm still a student, but I flew the approach and landed just as I would in daytime.

I have a feeling your instructor is trying to manage a difference in depth perception, but I agree with your assessment that if the light is good, there's no reason to switch it up. I'll wait for more experienced pilots to offer their opinion.

If the light is good, I can't imagine any reason to do night landings any differently than day landings. I didn't when I flew the C150.

Occasionally, on calm days (or nights) and a long runway, I would not completely pull out the throttle and keep 1200 rpm for a s-m-o-o-o-o-t-h landing.

I've always been told that night landings are accomplished the same as day landings.

Concur with the responders above -- don't do anything different unless you want a different result.

Especially with the landing lights on, an artificially induced Haze Illusion often occurs and even runway edge lights can induce it or add to it, especially on dry dirt/sand/gravel airstrips that have been used recently and the narrower the runway, especially less than 50 feet wide, the more likely runway edge lights will induce Haze Illusion. The suspension of dust can last for many hours in no wind conditions and some wind may clear it or, just the right amount of wind will kick up enough to maintain the dust, particularly in the desert where all surrounding quadrants are constantly supplying light, desert-dry dust.